News & Video

For Ohio's Future

For Our Future Ohio Statement on OH-12 Special Election

Aug 08, 2018

For Our Future Ohio’s State Director Antonia Webb issued the following statement on Democratic inroads made and the too-close-to-call special election for Ohio’s 12th Congressional District: 

Democrats defied the odds and turned a deeply red district into an unquestionable battleground. Every vote matters, and we look forward to each and every vote being counted. Despite millions in outside spending from the right, emergency visits from President Trump and Vice President Pence, and deeply divisive advertising by Republicans, Democrats have made historic gains in a district that has been in Republican hands for 35 years and that is far redder than the state of Ohio as a whole. We’re thrilled that For Our Future Ohio’s canvassing operation and digital advertising program in support of Danny O’Connor helped collapse Trump’s double-digit win in the district and awaken a groundswell of progressive energy. This special election gives us great enthusiasm and confidence going into November.

For Our Future Ohio ran aggressive voter turnout digital ads and field program, including the largest independent expenditure canvass operation in support of Danny O’Connor.

For Our Future Ohio’s efforts were discussed last night on MSNBC’s The Last Word with Lawrence O’Donnell. See the clip featuring Democratic strategist Amanda Wurst below.

Partial transcript:

“…  independent progressive organizations that have been on the ground since 2016… they’ve been building this progressive infrastructure in central Ohio and throughout the state — one example is For Our Future Ohio that has been canvassing in this district, was able to flick a switch. Not only were they able to engage in this race and add capacity where there hasn’t been in previous elections, but also this was a great trial run for November and a great opportunity to see what the progressive infrastructure can do when it flexes its muscle.”


Paid for by For Our Future ( Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.